Joint statement calling for sanctioning of Chinese and Hong Kong officials and protection for Hong Kongers at risk of political persecution

We, the undersigned, call upon the Government of Canada to take action in light of the mass arrests and assault on civil rights following the unilateral imposition of the new National Security Law in Hong Kong. Many in Hong Kong fear they will face the same fate as the student protestors in Tiananmen Square, defenders' lawyers, and millions of interned Uyghurs, Tibetans, and faith groups whose rights of free expression and worship are denied.

We urge the Government of Canada to offer a "Safe Harbour Program" with an expedited process to grant protection and permanent residency status to Hong Kongers at risk of political persecution under the National Security Law, including international students and expatriate workers who have been involved in protest actions in Canada.

Furthermore, Canada must invoke the Sergei Magnitsky Law to sanction Chinese and Hong Kong officials who instituted the National Security Law, as well as other acts violating human rights; and to ban them and their immediate family members from Canada and freeze their Canadian assets.

Canada needs to work closely with international allies with shared values to institute a strong policy toward China. It is time for Canada to take meaningful action to show leadership on the world stage.

Signatories:

Civil society organizations

Action Free Hong Kong Montreal Canada-Hong Kong Link Canada Tibet Committee Canadian Centre for Victims of Torture Canadian Friends of Hong Kong Canadian Journalists for Free Expression Centre for Law and Democracy Democracy & Human Rights for China Democratic Party of China, Canada Committee East Turkistan Association of Canada FAPA Canada Federation for a Democratic China Friends of Canada India Organization Friends of Hong Kong Calgary Global Pinov Diaspora Canada **Gurukul Cultural Society** Halifax Hong Kong Link

International Support for Uyghurs

McMaster Stands with HK

Movement for Democracy in China (Calgary)

Mustard Seeds Hong Kong Concern Group

One Free World International

Ontario Universities Hong Kong Awareness Group

Ottawa Post-Secondary Institutions' Hong Kong Awareness Group

Ottawan Stand With Hong Kong

PEN Canada

Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights

Regional Tibetan Youth Congress Toronto

Saskatchewan Stands with Hong Kong

SFU HK Awareness & Action Group

Southern Mongolian Human Rights Information Center

Students for a Free Tibet

Taiwanese Canadian Association of Toronto

Taiwanese Human Rights Association of Canada

Toronto Association for Democracy in China

Toronto Falun Gong Human Rights Group

Torontonian HongKongers Action Group

University of Calgary Hong Kong Concern

University of Manitoba Hong Kong Concern

University of Toronto Hong Kong Extradition Law Awareness Group

Uyghur Refugee Relief Fund

Uyghur Rights Advocacy Project

Vancouver Hong Kong Political Activists

Vancouverites Concerned About Hong Kong

Vancouverites Stand with Righteousness

Vancouver Society in Support of Democratic Movement

Vancouver Society of Freedom

Vancouver Uvghur Association

Victoria BC Hong Konger

Viet Tan

Waterloo Lion Rock Spirit

Winnipeg Hong Kong Concern

World Press Freedom Canada

World United Formosans for Independence Canada Chapter

York University Hong Kong Politics Awareness Group

Community Leaders

Charles Burton, Senior Fellow, Macdonald-Laurier Institute

Marcus Kolga, President of the Central and Eastern European Council in Canada

Amita Kuttner, Green Party activist

Joe Tay, Hong Kong actor and singer in exile

Rukiye Turdush, independent researcher and human rights activist

Parliamentarians

Ziad Aboultaif, Member of Parliament

Scott Aitchison, Member of Parliament

Hon. Denise Batters, Senator

Kelly Block, Member of Parliament

Alexandre Boulerice, Member of Parliament

John Brassard, Member of Parliament

Colin Carrie, Member of Parliament

Kenny Chiu, Member of Parliament

Laurel Collins, Member of Parliament

Hon. Consiglio DiNino, former Senator

Scott Duvall, Member of Parliament

Dave Epp, Member of Parliament

Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Member of Parliament

Hon. Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Member of Parliament

Hon. Linda Frum, Senator

Hon. Dr. Hedy Fry, Member of Parliament

Leah Gazan, Member of Parliament

Randall Garrison, Member of Parliament

Hon. Stephen Greene, Senator

Jasraj Singh Hallan, Member of Parliament

Jack Harris, Member of Parliament

Hon. Leo Housakos, Senator

Carol Hughes, Member of Parliament

Hon. Peter Kent, Member of Parliament

Tom Kmiec, Member of Parliament

Michael Kram, Member of Parliament

Damien Kurek, Member of Parliament

Jenny Kwan, Member of Parliament

Hon. Frances Lankin, Senator

Philip Lawrence. Member of Parliament

Hon. Michael MacDonald, Senator

Paul Manly, Member of Parliament

Hon. Elizabeth Marshall, Senator

Lindsay Mathyssen, Member of Parliament

Elizabeth May, Member of Parliament

Kelly McCauley, Member of Parliament

Phil McColeman, Member of Parliament

Hon. John McKay, Member of Parliament

Hon. Marilou McPhedran, Senator

Heather McPherson, Member of Parliament

Hon. Percy Mockler, Senator

Hon. Jim Munson, Senator

Hon. Thanh Hai Ngo, Senator

Hon. Dennis Patterson, Senator

Jeremy Patzer, Member of Parliament

Hon. Donald Plett, Senator
Yasmin Ratansi, Member of Parliament
Brad Redekopp, Member of Parliament
Hon. David Richards, Senator
Hon. Judy Sgro, Member of Parliament
Nelly Shin, Member of Parliament
Derek Sloan, Member of Parliament
Warren Steinley, Member of Parliament
David Sweet, Member of Parliament
Corey Tochor, Member of Parliament
Cathay Wagantall, Member of Parliament
Kevin Waugh, Member of Parliament